Tutorial – painting roses on cupcakes

IMG_8359 (2)

I made these cupcakes a while ago and took some pictures of how I painted the flowers, and put together a little tutorial for you! 🙂 I really admire all those amazing cake makers out there with talents for painting, and really wish I had the same abilities, but I don’t. And I’ve accepted that. 😉 Although I’m hoping to learn eventually! While waiting for painting skills to magically appear, I go for simpler patterns and motifs like these fantasy roses. They were really simple to make, and if I can make it, anyone can! And as I said, I put together a short tutorial, so here it comes.

You’ll need:

  • Cupcakes
  • Frosting
  • Sugarpaste/fondant/marzipan
  • Circle cutter to match the size of your cupcake
  • Pink, red and green food coloring
  • Small square tip paintbrush (the one I used was approximately 2 mm across)
  • Small round tip paintbrush

1.. Begin with frosting your cupcakes to an even dome

IMG_8328

2.. Roll out fondant/marzipan to desired thickness and cut out a circle. You might have to try a few times until you find a cutter with the right diameter. Gently lay your circle on the cupcake and carefully smooth it with your hands.

IMG_8329

3.. Dilute your colors with clear alcohol until you get a consistency about the thickness of water.

4.. For each flower; begin from the center and paint squiggly lines with the square tip brush and pink color  like in the picture. Start with very little color on your brush to get a very light color.

IMG_8330

5.. With some more color on the brush, add some more of the same color to have some color variations.

IMG_8332

6.. With the round brush, add some red accents (see picture)

IMG_8333

7.. Once you’ve painted all the flowers on all the cupcakes, wash the round tip brush and use it to paint small, green leaves. I think that it looks the best to let each rose have two petals, but you can of course do it just the way you want!

And that’s pretty much it! If you have any questions, leave a comment and I’ll try to answer it!

Thanks for looking, and good luck!

One thought on “Tutorial – painting roses on cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Valentine’s day ideas! | tarttokig

Leave a Reply

