Succulent and lace cupcake

IMG_1509

For a while now I’ve found myself loving succulents. We’ve had them growing at home for years but I’ve never thought much about them, until I started seeing them popping up on cakes here and there. From thinking they look odd I’ve now started to love their fat petals and the colors, ranging from purple to green and that lovely almost grey color. I’ve been looking around for succulent tutorials, but have found none, so when a tutorial was posted on CakeCentral I thought it was finally time to give these lovely flowers a try!

Since I always have cupcakes in the freezer, I popped one out, covered it in a purple/red marzipan, gave it a lace wrapper and then started making a succulent to go with it. The flower from CakeCentral was really beautiful but it had wires, and if you’ve been reading previous posts, you know I’m not really a fan of those. Anyways, I tried it out without wires and I’m not really happy with it, so I’ll have to make some more until I find a technique I like! I do really like the color combination though, and I think the lace complements the flower very well. I think that succulents would look lovely together with sugar veil lace… next time maybe! 😉

Since there already is a tutorial for succulents on CakeCentral, I thought I’d wait to share an unwired version here until I make some new ones that look a little better. And since I already have an idea for mini cakes with succulents, I probably won’t be that long until I make these flowers again! In the meantime, I’d love to hear from you! Do you have a favorite flower? Have you tried making any succulents?

Thanks for stopping by, and see you next time! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Succulent and lace cupcake

  1. I am not a cake decorator and I have only made cakes for my kids. I have never taken a class and I am a bit messy. I love your tutorials, you make everything look so easy. My favorite flower is calla lily or Peony.

    • Thanks Delia, how sweet of you! I agree, caking can be quite messy: there are a lot of failed sugar flowers in my trash bin! 😉 I’ve been wanting to try making Calla Lilies but it seems other things Always come in the way.. 😉

  2. Pingback: Small pots with succulents – mini cake tutorial | tarttokig

Leave a Reply

