Video tutorial – gerbera daisy

IMG_8476 (2)-001

What a journey this has been… Getting the camera to work with me, editing all those pieces of film, adding text, finding music.. The camera and I are good friends when it comes to photography, and I love photographing animals and nature! But when it came to filming it was determined to give me a hard time..

It’s a system camera and it can’t refocus while filming and the area in focus is so tiny! So if some part it is a little out of focus, that’s why. 😉 When all those pieces of film were edited into a video tutorial, I had to find some music to go with it. Let me tell you; finding good music without copyright protection is not easy! And since I’m studying law, I can’t just ignore the rules either! 😉 So I ended up using some music that I’ve composed and recorded myself. So you can definitely say that this video is 100 % home made!

This tutorial is a little different from my picture tutorial for a gerbera. I used a different technique on the petals since I think it gives a more realistic look, but you can of course make whichever you like! 🙂

To make the flower you’ll need:

  • Flower shaper (instructions here)
  • Rolling pin
  • Brushes
  • Large daisy cutter
  • 2 small daisy cutters (approx. 3 and 3,5 cm across)
  • Exacto knife
  • Gumpaste/sugarpaste/fondant in colors of your choice (google gerberas to find a color combination you like!)
  • Powder colors
  • Edible glue or water

Tips!

  1. If you have difficulty blending powder colors to achieve the same color as your flower: make the powder color mixture first and then color your sugarpaste/gumpaste with some of the powder color mix!
  2. If you’re making several flowers for the same cake; vary the amount of small flowers you add to the center. If the flowers have some differences, they will look more natural!
  3. If you make more than one flower; change the shape of the flower shaper to give the flowers different looks. Make some more closed, and some more open!

Thanks for stopping by, and if you like it; leave a comment! It makes me so happy to hear from you! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Video tutorial – gerbera daisy

Leave a Reply

