Cinnamon buns topped with vanilla custard

IMG_8817

Generally speaking, buns are not made very often in my home. It’s not that I don’t like them – I do! – but the hours and hours you have to wait for the dough to prove and the fact that my finished buns seem to dry out so quickly, makes me choose making cupcakes, cakes and cookies most of the time. But given that it was nearly a year since I last baked with yeast and I just bought a fabulous new cookbook with an exciting new recipe, I decided to give it a go after all. And I must say that it was worth it. At least when they were just fresh out of the oven and I took the very first bite and felt the contrast of soft bun, smooth vanilla custard and crunchy sugar. Just delicious!

IMG_8830

The best part of these buns was the vanilla custard, and that they were brushed with melted butter and dipped in sugar. It really took them to a whole new level! And the sparkle of the sugar would make them perfect for an elegant dessert table!

IMG_8795

When I made vanilla custard the first time, I was so nervous because I had heard it was supposedly very difficult and it was.. my first attempt was not exactly successful. It was lumpy, but it still tasted great though! But it only took making it once or twice more before I thought it was really quite simple, so I do want to encourage you all to try it! If you just whip as if your life depended on it, and plan a little ahead, it’s really not that difficult! And the result is so delicious! You really have no choice, just try it out! πŸ˜‰ Here is the recipe I used:

  • 250 g milk
  • 50 g sugar
  • 1/4 vanilla pod
  • 60 g egg yolk
  • 20 g cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon unsalted butter

1.. Slice the vanilla pod in half, and put it in a saucepan with the milk and sugar. Bring it to a boil and remove from heat.

2.. Whip egg yolk and cornstarch by hand for about a minute.

3.. While whipping, add the egg mixture to the milk.

4.. Put the saucepan back on the stove and whip continuously until the custard thickens.

5.. Remove from heat, add the butter, and pour it into a heat proof bowl to cool.

 

Before I say good bye to you for the day, I’ll just give you a few helpful tips: when cracking and egg, try not to break the shell with your hands so you end up with eggs all over yourself. Preferably, don’t do it twice in one day. When you whip the egg yolk and the cornstarch, don’t do it in a tiny bowl with a large whisk, because you will end up with eggs all over your kitchen. Oh, and of course this has never happened to me, I’ve just… heard others talk about it! (Fine, you got me, I did manage to do all these things in a matter of 5 minutes).

Thanks for looking, and see you soon! I have some exciting plans for halloween… πŸ™‚

IMG_8810

3 thoughts on “Cinnamon buns topped with vanilla custard

Leave a Reply

