Recipe – spiced apple and walnut muffins

IMG_9205-001

I baked these lovely muffins today! I used this recipe as a base but substituted some of the sugar for brown sugar, added some walnuts for texture and flavor and added chai tea. I think they turned out great; they were deliciously moist and not too sweet. They are topped with oat crumble for some extra crunch. 🙂

IMG_9217-001

Here’s the recipe!

For 12 normal sized muffins:

Oat crumble:

  • 50 g cold butter
  • 40 g plain flour
  • 40 g oats
  • 15 g sugar

Muffins:

  • 180 g chai tea (I brewed it a little stronger than I normally would)
  • 20 g milk
  • 125 g butter
  • 60 g walnuts
  • 1 apple
  • 1 ml cardamom
  • 1 ml cinnamon
  • 240 g plain flour
  • 90 g light brown muscovado sugar
  • 90 g regular sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 egg

1.. Preheat the oven to 175°C/350 F.

2.. Pinch together the ingredients for the oat crumble. Put to the side as you make the batter.

3.. Brew chai tee, measure out 180 g and add the milk. Put to the side to cool.

4.. Melt the butter.

5.. Chop the walnuts to quite small pieces.

6.. Peel and chop the apple.

7.. Stir together walnuts, apple, cardamom, cinnamon, flour, baking powder and the sugars.

8.. Stir in the cooled tea, butter and the egg.

9.. Pour the batter into the baking cups, 2/3 up. Spread oat crumble on top and bake in the middle of the oven for 15-20 minutes.

10.. Put the muffins on a wire rack to cool.

Enjoy!

IMG_9232-001

10 thoughts on “Recipe – spiced apple and walnut muffins

  1. This recipe sounds wonderful and I’m anxious to try it. I have a few questions, however, before I can try it. It has to do with the cardamom and cinnamon. I’m having a problem trying to figure out how much of those spices need to be added to the recipe. I’m also having a bit of a problem figuring out the milk. It is my understanding that liquids are usually measured in mililiters using metric calculations. Unfortunately, I’ve never been very good at math, especially when using metric measurements. Trying to convert the measurements for the cinnamon and cardamom, I come out with .202 ounces of spice each. Is this the correct measurement? I’m actually used to doing spices with teaspoons, so that’s probably why I’m having so much trouble with the conversion. I would appreciate any help with this that I can get. Thanks in advance!

    • Hi Norma, I’m glad you ask!
      The 1 ml measuring spoon is a fifth the volume of the teaspoon, meaning I used 1/5 teaspoon of each spice. These measuring spoons are very common in Sweden but I don’t know if you can purchase them elsewhere. It’s not that important to get the exact right amount of spice so you could just use 1/4 teaspoon of cardamom and 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon. You could also use 1/2 teaspoon of either cardamom or cinnamon if you find that easier to measure, it will still be delicious!
      For liquids, 1 g of liquid equals 1 ml, so 20 g of milk is 20 ml. For flour, sugar etc the relationships are a little different!
      I hope I was able to answer your question!
      Sara

Leave a Reply

